HXC Floppy emulator on A3010

Arc/RPCs, peripherals, RISCOS operating system & ARM kit eg GP2x, BeagleBoard
jagman
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 1:35 pm
Contact:

HXC Floppy emulator on A3010

Postby jagman » Wed Apr 13, 2016 10:43 am

Hi All,

I recently purchased an a3010 and want to get it working with my SD HXC Floppy emulator.

I converted many .adf files to .hfe files and the a3010 would just say "Drive Empty". I spent quite a while fiddling about : changing jumpers, changing the cable, different conversion options etc, but could not get it to work.

I did not know if the .hfe was invalid, or if the HXC emulator was configured incorrectly, So I made a .HFE from a PC Disk image and the a3010 saw it with no problems.

So, it seems my problem is that I cannot convert acorn .adf images to .hfe.

Has anyone done this successfully? Can anyone give me some pointers as to how to create a valid .hfe from a .adf?

Thanks for any help.

jagman
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 1:35 pm
Contact:

Re: HXC Floppy emulator on A3010

Postby jagman » Wed Apr 13, 2016 10:45 am

Forgot to mention :

I am using firmware v1.8.6.15a and HXC converter software v2.1.4.3

JonC
Posts: 642
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 9:19 pm
Location: Wakefield
Contact:

Re: HXC Floppy emulator on A3010

Postby JonC » Wed Apr 13, 2016 10:47 am

There are already a couple of HxC thread in this subforum, I think one may have your answer. :wink:

Specifically this one! :D
Jon
Image

jagman
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 1:35 pm
Contact:

Re: HXC Floppy emulator on A3010

Postby jagman » Wed Apr 13, 2016 11:14 am

Thanks JonC.

I read all those threads last night while I was trying, but had no success.
I have now re-read the one you pointed me to (and the one that points to) and I now have success.
All I needed to do was to use the HXCSDFE.CFG file from http://www.stardot.org.uk/forums/downlo ... p?id=21048

For anyone else that is interested, My configuration is as follows:

HXC Model : http://lotharek.pl/product.php?pid=175
Firmware : v1.8.6.15a
Windows HXC Software : v2.1.4.3

Jumpers:

[34Way] [.][.][|][.] [Power]
[.][.][|][|]
[.][.][.][|]

HXCSDFE.CFG : as above

Cable : I have used both a non twisted and a twisted cable, and both work with no changes to the configuration!

My original assumption about the conversion being bad was wrong - it was just the config file.
Many Thanks JonC.

User avatar
1024MAK
Posts: 7291
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 4:46 pm
Location: Looking forward to summer in Somerset, UK...
Contact:

Re: HXC Floppy emulator on A3010

Postby 1024MAK » Wed Apr 13, 2016 12:03 pm

No need for twisted cables when using a HXC. As the HXC can be configured for drive 1 or 2.

Mark
For a "Complete BBC Games Archive" visit www.bbcmicro.co.uk NOW!
BeebWiki‬ - for answers to many questions...

jagman
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 1:35 pm
Contact:

Re: HXC Floppy emulator on A3010

Postby jagman » Wed Apr 13, 2016 12:33 pm

Mark,
Yes, I was only saying that I tried both cables. I wanted to try another cable as I was not 100% sure the one I was using was good. The only spare I had was a twisted cable and it also worked. I had to do no additional configuration. I would have though I needed to change some jumpers, but did not. It just worked.
All the best,
Bill.

User avatar
1024MAK
Posts: 7291
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 4:46 pm
Location: Looking forward to summer in Somerset, UK...
Contact:

Re: HXC Floppy emulator on A3010

Postby 1024MAK » Wed Apr 13, 2016 1:44 pm

I have an older version that I use on an Atari ST, and the jumper shunts/links can be configured to respond to drive 1, drive 2 or both. If configured for both, a twisted cable will normally work.

The Atari ST, the Acorn machines and many others all use variations of the Shugart disk interface. It was IBM that changed things, the twist is so that drive 1 can be on the end of the cable (and act as terminator), while the same drives can be manufactured with the internal configuration links all set the same (all configured as drive 2). The cable then selects which is drive 1 and which is drive 2.

Mark
For a "Complete BBC Games Archive" visit www.bbcmicro.co.uk NOW!
BeebWiki‬ - for answers to many questions...

jagman
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 1:35 pm
Contact:

Re: HXC Floppy emulator on A3010

Postby jagman » Thu Apr 14, 2016 8:41 am

Makes sense.
Thanks for the info.
Bill.

User avatar
number-one
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 9:06 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: HXC Floppy emulator on A3010

Postby number-one » Mon Apr 02, 2018 2:11 pm

Hello I converted the lemmings demo ADF from lemming demo ADF to an HFE with the default settings.
I have the RiscOS error "Drive empty'

I replaced the original floppy cable by an Amiga 600 cable, same problem.

A3010
HXC Model Rev C
Firmware : 1_8_2_40
Windows HXC Software : v2.2.9.1
HXCSDFE.CFG file from http://www.stardot.org.uk/forums/downlo ... p?id=21048
Jumpers:
[.][.][|][.] [Power]
[.][.][|][|]
[.][.][.][|]
A3010 4 MB Ram

Jeff_HxC2001
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2017 8:37 am
Contact:

Re: HXC Floppy emulator on A3010

Postby Jeff_HxC2001 » Mon Apr 02, 2018 7:17 pm

remove the sd -> enter the embedded menu -> interface cfg -> try the pc interface mode (hd or dd)

User avatar
number-one
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 9:06 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: HXC Floppy emulator on A3010

Postby number-one » Sun Apr 08, 2018 8:44 am

I set IBMPC_HD on the interface cfg.

I read successfully Lemings_demo.hfe and play the game,
but I have errors on:


deleting files on Lemings_demo.hfe
IMG-0581.JPG


formating floppy Lemings_demo.hfe
IMG-0583.JPG


copying !Lemmings folder from ramdisk to Blank1600K.hfe
IMG-0586.JPG


These files attached:

Lemings_demo.zip
(730.07 KiB) Downloaded 9 times

Lemings_demo.adf
Lemings_demo.hfe

Blank1600K.zip
(2.88 MiB) Downloaded 8 times

Blank1600K.adf
Blank1600K.hfe
A3010 4 MB Ram

steve3000
Posts: 1816
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 12:43 am
Contact:

Re: HXC Floppy emulator on A3010

Postby steve3000 » Sun Apr 08, 2018 8:40 pm

number-one wrote:Hello I converted the lemmings demo ADF from lemming demo ADF to an HFE with the default settings.

First, and I'm sure you've worked out if you've played the game, but this isn't 'Lemmings', it's a nice freeware clone of Lemmings, if a little less polished than the original, called Lemings (one 'm'), written by Tom Cooper.

As for the problem you have, it sounds like write operations on the emulated drive or discs are failing. Do any write operations work on any emulated discs?

I don't know the HXC system well, but is there a way to lock discs, or the drive from write operations - could your drive or the disc images all be locked or set to read only?

User avatar
danielj
Posts: 5977
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Manchester
Contact:

Re: HXC Floppy emulator on A3010

Postby danielj » Sun Apr 08, 2018 9:06 pm

From experience with play testing flashfloppy, I'm minded to think it's because RISC OS relies on well timed index pulses to detect whether the drive has a disk in it. It's probably fine with reads as the memory stick will be working fairly fast, but with writes it slows down and the pulses don't turn up fast enough to convince the arc that there's a disk in there. The FlashFloppy firmware compensates for this, so you can use the latest version of that firmware and it'll function for reads/writes perfectly on the A3010 (not writes to 1.6mb HFE discs currently, however you can use 1.6mb ADF sector images) but it would be good to see it fixed in HxC.

d.

Jeff_HxC2001
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2017 8:37 am
Contact:

Re: HXC Floppy emulator on A3010

Postby Jeff_HxC2001 » Mon Apr 09, 2018 11:22 am

number-one : you don't need to convert the ADF to HFE, you can use them directly.

please just retry on the ADF directly.
EDIT2 : No you can't in fact, sorry ! I thought that you have a Gotek HxC...

EDIT:
danielj wrote:so you can use the latest version of that firmware and it'll function for reads/writes perfectly on the A3010 (not writes to 1.6mb HFE discs currently, however you can use 1.6mb ADF sector images


Oh ok, so since it currently use HFE files, this will not solve the issue here. And as i said, the HxC Firmware for Gotek also support ADF sector images, so this is probably to solution to directly use ADF files.

(btw the Gotek HxC have a cache memory layer to reduce/suppress this index delay).

EDIT 2: I just see that he has an SD HxC and not a Gotek, so the discussion is totally out of scope here... :oops:. The issue is probably related to the write latency of the used SD Card. We are continuing the discussion in French through email.

EDIT 3: Mostly solved -> A bad no name SDCard was used. A new sdcard + a track interleave change for the HD formats solve the issues.