Vectorlight's A3010 IDE mod : step by step guide

Arc/RPCs, peripherals, RISCOS operating system & ARM kit eg GP2x, BeagleBoard
Andy1979
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2017 9:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Vectorlight's A3010 IDE mod : step by step guide

Postby Andy1979 » Mon Aug 21, 2017 1:22 pm

=D> =D> =D> =D> =D>
Most impressive work. That's a seriously hardcore mod with all those tiny wires. Great result.

User avatar
vectorlight
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2016 12:23 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Vectorlight's A3010 IDE mod : step by step guide

Postby vectorlight » Sat Mar 24, 2018 7:59 pm

I'm having a clearout and have 4 of these boards left, 1 of them is mostly populated but not tested. If anyone wants one send me a PM. Sorry I can only post to the UK. :D
3D Printing and Acorn A3010 Owner!

User avatar
number-one
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 9:06 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Vectorlight's A3010 IDE mod : step by step guide

Postby number-one » Mon Apr 02, 2018 9:02 am

Hello Vectorlight congratulations for your website.
I am not authorised to compose private message for now.

I want to buy one of your A3010 IDE interface.
You can reach me on alouest AT gmail DOT com.
A3010 4 MB Ram

User avatar
vectorlight
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2016 12:23 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Vectorlight's A3010 IDE mod : step by step guide

Postby vectorlight » Mon Apr 02, 2018 7:09 pm

number-one wrote:Hello Vectorlight congratulations for your website.
I am not authorised to compose private message for now.

I want to buy one of your A3010 IDE interface.
You can reach me on alouest AT gmail DOT com.

Sure, I will try to email you now. All I ask is you cover the postage (£1). :D
3D Printing and Acorn A3010 Owner!

User avatar
trixster
Posts: 584
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:45 am
Location: York
Contact:

Re: Vectorlight's A3010 IDE mod : step by step guide

Postby trixster » Tue Apr 03, 2018 5:04 pm

Hi Vectorlight!

I don't suppose you have an IDE boards left do you? I'd love to get hold of one.

Thanks,

Andy
A3020 | A3000 | A420/1 | BBC B + 128K RAM/ROM + 20K Shadow + Pi0 + VideoNuLA
Master Turbo + DC + BeebSID | Atom | A4000 060 | A3000 060 | A1200 060 | A500
Atari Falcon 060 | Saturn | PS1 | SNES | CPC6128 | C64 | 3DO | MD | Jaguar

User avatar
vectorlight
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2016 12:23 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Vectorlight's A3010 IDE mod : step by step guide

Postby vectorlight » Wed Apr 11, 2018 7:17 am

trixster wrote:Hi Vectorlight!

I don't suppose you have an IDE boards left do you? I'd love to get hold of one.

Thanks,

Andy


Sorry these are now all gone.
3D Printing and Acorn A3010 Owner!

User avatar
trixster
Posts: 584
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:45 am
Location: York
Contact:

Re: Vectorlight's A3010 IDE mod : step by step guide

Postby trixster » Wed Apr 11, 2018 11:37 am

No problemo! :)
A3020 | A3000 | A420/1 | BBC B + 128K RAM/ROM + 20K Shadow + Pi0 + VideoNuLA
Master Turbo + DC + BeebSID | Atom | A4000 060 | A3000 060 | A1200 060 | A500
Atari Falcon 060 | Saturn | PS1 | SNES | CPC6128 | C64 | 3DO | MD | Jaguar

User avatar
number-one
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 9:06 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Vectorlight's A3010 IDE mod : step by step guide

Postby number-one » Sun Apr 22, 2018 8:41 am

Have you a list of know working compact flash / sd card readers and cards with the IDE Mod ?
A3010 4 MB Ram

User avatar
vectorlight
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2016 12:23 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Vectorlight's A3010 IDE mod : step by step guide

Postby vectorlight » Sat May 19, 2018 5:13 pm

number-one wrote:Have you a list of know working compact flash / sd card readers and cards with the IDE Mod ?


I tend to stick to 512mb sandisk cards. They usually work, though not all of them I'm afraid.
3D Printing and Acorn A3010 Owner!

User avatar
vectorlight
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2016 12:23 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Vectorlight's A3010 IDE mod : step by step guide

Postby vectorlight » Sat May 19, 2018 5:22 pm

I haven't done much on my Acorns for a while so yesterday I thought I'd try to apply this IDE modification to an Adelaide machine:

Image

Making it fit with the ARM3 upgrade was a challenge due to the ARM3 board overhanging so much. The IDE mod PCB just about fits, as in it is right up against the Adelaide board. If I were to redo this board I'd move some of the components over to the right-side and reduce the left side a bit.

Other than physically making it fit, when completed if works identically to an ARM250 machine which I'm happy with :D

This must now be one of the most modded A3010s around :D : ARM3 overclocked to 45mhz, 50ns RAM overclocked to 22mhz and now twin IDE drives :D

This was the last IDE board I've got, hope everyone out there with one of them managed to get it working :?:
3D Printing and Acorn A3010 Owner!

steve3000
Posts: 1816
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 12:43 am
Contact:

Re: Vectorlight's A3010 IDE mod : step by step guide

Postby steve3000 » Sat May 19, 2018 6:56 pm

vectorlight wrote:This was the last IDE board I've got, hope everyone out there with one of them managed to get it working :?:

Great to see you've got it into your expanded Adelaide A3010, what a machine that must be!

Interesting to see also because you have a very low lying Adelaide board, mine is on much higher legs, so my Adelaide PCB sits just below my expansion card PCB (probably about where your Arm3 PCB sits). Even so, I've test fitted your IDE board, and all looks good for the board, but the IDE cable might be a squeeze... I just have to get my computer working now before I can test further, as the battery damage is extensive.

Andy1979
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2017 9:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Vectorlight's A3010 IDE mod : step by step guide

Postby Andy1979 » Sun May 20, 2018 10:05 am

vectorlight wrote:This must now be one of the most modded A3010s around :D : ARM3 overclocked to 45mhz, 50ns RAM overclocked to 22mhz and now twin IDE drives :D


Seriously impressive work - I'm not brave enough to do that to mine! (or good enough at fine soldering) =D>

In terms of further expansion, the only thing the A3010 is missing is the onboard network upgrade connection. Are any of those signals accessible in a similar fashion?

I have one of the Bush Internet boxes, and the way you've used the ROM sockets as a carrier for the board makes me wonder if something similar might be possible for that - effectively turning it into an A7000 class machine? That said, the limited nature of the onboard ROMS would most likely be a problem, and since it's already possible to boot one from a parallel ZIP drive there's not really much point.