Open source firmware for Gotek floppy emulator released

Arc/RPCs, peripherals, RISCOS operating system & ARM kit eg GP2x, BeagleBoard
User avatar
danielj
Posts: 5974
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Manchester
Contact:

Re: Open source firmware for Gotek floppy emulator released

Postby danielj » Sun Apr 08, 2018 12:07 pm

That all makes sense now :) The actual HxC emulator firmware hasn't been updated since 2013 afaik (beta seems to be from 2016) - it doesn't do Acorn format files as native, they do have to be converted to HFE. A thread on the support website's your best bet, indeed.

d.

User avatar
lcww1
Posts: 197
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 11:16 pm
Location: East of the Sun and West of the Moon
Contact:

Re: Open source firmware for Gotek floppy emulator released

Postby lcww1 » Sat Apr 14, 2018 4:08 pm

After a few false starts (usb fat32 issues, grrrr) - success!

0EA53A1B-2E6E-406E-8822-845207BF4FF3.jpeg
FF Gotek on A3010


I used the USB programming method for the Gotek, which was painless.

Quite wonderful to finally get a Gotek running on an Arc! Many thanks to those responsible for the FF project :D

rharper
Posts: 341
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 5:19 pm
Location: Dunstable
Contact:

Re: Open source firmware for Gotek floppy emulator released

Postby rharper » Sun Apr 15, 2018 2:15 pm

Electron ADF games that will run natively under the recent FlashFloppy update are available from here http://stardot.org.uk/forums/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=14947

Ray :)
Raycomp

rharper
Posts: 341
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 5:19 pm
Location: Dunstable
Contact:

Re: Open source firmware for Gotek floppy emulator released

Postby rharper » Mon Apr 16, 2018 3:03 pm

I have made a mistake. The ADF files I have come across are 320K the same as ADM files.
How does FlashFloppy treat ADF files?
I find that FlashFloppy 0.9.16a will not use 320K ADF files but after renaming to ADM it does.
Ray :?
Raycomp

User avatar
danielj
Posts: 5974
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Manchester
Contact:

Re: Open source firmware for Gotek floppy emulator released

Postby danielj » Mon Apr 16, 2018 4:14 pm

In FF.CFG put the line

Code: Select all

host = acorn


and you should be OK?


If it still doesn't work, I'll raise a ticket to fix it - it'll just be down to it not detecting the right size for all varients of adf, it can be fixed quite quickly.

d.

rharper
Posts: 341
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 5:19 pm
Location: Dunstable
Contact:

Re: Open source firmware for Gotek floppy emulator released

Postby rharper » Mon Apr 16, 2018 7:30 pm

danielj wrote:In FF.CFG put the line

Code: Select all

host = acorn

and you should be OK?

If it still doesn't work, I'll raise a ticket to fix it - it'll just be down to it not detecting the right size for all varients of adf, it can be fixed quite quickly.

d.

All working fine now.
Thanks Daniel.
Ray :D
Raycomp

User avatar
sydney
Posts: 2096
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 9:09 am
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne
Contact:

Re: Open source firmware for Gotek floppy emulator released

Postby sydney » Thu May 10, 2018 3:39 pm

Ordered the parts today, should be up and running in about 8 weeks time once it's all arrived from china.