Setting up PANOS!

discussion of beeb/electron applications, languages, utils and educational s/w
User avatar
DutchAcorn
Posts: 1546
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 9:56 am
Location: Maarn, Netherlands

Re: Setting up PANOS!

Postby DutchAcorn » Mon Jun 20, 2016 5:14 am

Thanks Dave!

Using these on my model B I found that Panos loads fine using a real floppy drive.

Using Turbo MMC or Smart MMC (on Turbo hardware) it presents an error message:
image.jpeg

It does not try to access the disc drive so I don't think it is related to needing the *disc command.
I'll try it with the 99P hardware and MMFS later.
Paul

User avatar
Lardo Boffin
Posts: 556
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 6:47 am

Re: Setting up PANOS!

Postby Lardo Boffin » Mon Jun 20, 2016 8:03 am

DutchAcorn wrote:Thanks Dave!

Using these on my model B I found that Panos loads fine using a real floppy drive.

Using Turbo MMC or Smart MMC (on Turbo hardware) it presents an error message:
image.jpeg
It does not try to access the disc drive so I don't think it is related to needing the *disc command.
I'll try it with the 99P hardware and MMFS later.


I get exactly the same on my TurboMMC on a model B. I am in the process of copy the files to disc but unfortunately work has got in the way...

Lardo
BBC model B 32k issue 4, 16k sideways RAM, Watford 12 ROM board, Retroclinic Datacentre + HDD, matchbox co-proc, Viglen twin 40/80 5.25" discs, acorn cassette
BBC model B 32k issue 7, turboMMC, Opus Challenger 3 512k, Pi 3 coproc, Acorn 6502 coproc

User avatar
hoglet
Posts: 6280
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 6:21 pm
Location: Bristol

Re: Setting up PANOS!

Postby hoglet » Mon Jun 20, 2016 8:07 am

I don't believe MMC ROMs based on DFS 0.9 (original DCBEEB, TurboMMC, SmartSPI) have support for files > 64KB in size.

I also hit this issue in MMFS with Panos, so fixed it in MMFS (v1.23 and later).

You can see the change log of MMFS here:
https://github.com/hoglet67/MMFS/commits/master

Dave

User avatar
Lardo Boffin
Posts: 556
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 6:47 am

Re: Setting up PANOS!

Postby Lardo Boffin » Mon Jun 20, 2016 8:27 am

I have PANOS (the number of times my phone auto corrected the spelling of that is worrying...)!

It won't boot from MMC but seems to work fine, if slowly from floppy.

I thought I was going to struggle as I used *MTOD from the utilities on the MMC to copy the files from the image to the disc and it reported a bad program while copying panData. So far it seems to work although I guess the file could be corrupted in a bit I have not yet used.

Lardo
BBC model B 32k issue 4, 16k sideways RAM, Watford 12 ROM board, Retroclinic Datacentre + HDD, matchbox co-proc, Viglen twin 40/80 5.25" discs, acorn cassette
BBC model B 32k issue 7, turboMMC, Opus Challenger 3 512k, Pi 3 coproc, Acorn 6502 coproc

User avatar
DutchAcorn
Posts: 1546
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 9:56 am
Location: Maarn, Netherlands

Re: Setting up PANOS!

Postby DutchAcorn » Mon Jun 20, 2016 10:16 am

Lardo Boffin wrote:I thought I was going to struggle as I used *MTOD from the utilities on the MMC to copy the files from the image to the disc and it reported a bad program while copying panData. So far it seems to work although I guess the file could be corrupted in a bit I have not yet used.


I used the *IMTOD command, that dumps the whole image onto a (formatted) floppy.

hoglet wrote:I don't believe MMC ROMs based on DFS 0.9 (original DCBEEB, TurboMMC, SmartSPI) have support for files > 64KB in size.

Also suspecting the DFS0.9 legacy yesterday I tried booting PANOS with DFS0.9 in a higher rom slot than DNFS: that booted fine from floppy. I'll try again with DNFS disabled tonight; the Tube code should be in the TurboMMC DFS.
Paul

User avatar
DutchAcorn
Posts: 1546
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 9:56 am
Location: Maarn, Netherlands

Re: Setting up PANOS!

Postby DutchAcorn » Tue Jun 21, 2016 5:09 am

DutchAcorn wrote:... I'll try it with the 99P hardware and MMFS later.

MMFS works fine with Panos on the model B.

DFS0.9 also boots Panos.

I was getting errors with MMFS first but that seemed to be caused by the copro not initialising properly:
*** Exceptio (UND) at PC: 001000 ***
Paul

User avatar
Lardo Boffin
Posts: 556
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 6:47 am

Re: Setting up PANOS!

Postby Lardo Boffin » Tue Jun 21, 2016 7:25 pm

Has anyone tried setting the date to today?

It looks like it is not Y2K compliant!

Lardo
BBC model B 32k issue 4, 16k sideways RAM, Watford 12 ROM board, Retroclinic Datacentre + HDD, matchbox co-proc, Viglen twin 40/80 5.25" discs, acorn cassette
BBC model B 32k issue 7, turboMMC, Opus Challenger 3 512k, Pi 3 coproc, Acorn 6502 coproc

User avatar
flaxcottage
Posts: 2703
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:46 pm
Location: Derbyshire

Re: Setting up PANOS!

Postby flaxcottage » Wed Apr 19, 2017 10:53 pm

Interesting discovery here.

I have been setting up a 256Mb CF card on my Datacentre to be a PANOS drive and as recommended I have used the PANOS 1.4 images from the MDFS.NET site. The images were written to real discs using OmniFlop and installed from there.

Disc 1 worked perfectly. Disc 2, however, refused to install, returning an 'error Install not found'. Cataloguing the disc showed that a file 'Install' was there.

Disc 2 is only single-sided, even though the image is a .DSD. Using Hoglet's .SSD image of side 0 of disc 2 the install proceeded correctly. The only difference I could see between the two images was that the MDFS,NET image had capital letters for the directories, whereas the Hoglet one was lower case.

Wierd this. #-o
- John

Currently running Level 4 Econet with BBC B, BBC B+ 128K, Master 128K, 4Mb A3000, 4Mb A3020, 4Mb A4000, 4Mb A5000 dual FDD; UK101; HP41CX setup; Psion 3a, 3mx and 5mx; Z88; TI-58c, TI-59 and printer

User avatar
hoglet
Posts: 6280
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 6:21 pm
Location: Bristol

Re: Setting up PANOS!

Postby hoglet » Thu Apr 20, 2017 12:41 am

flaxcottage wrote:The only difference I could see between the two images was that the MDFS,NET image had capital letters for the directories, whereas the Hoglet one was lower case.

The one on MDFS actually doesn't have directories at all (i.e. everything is is $.)
http://mdfs.net/Mirror/Image/Acorn/PanO ... OS14-2.zip

See this thread:
viewtopic.php?p=132415#p132415

Dave

User avatar
flaxcottage
Posts: 2703
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:46 pm
Location: Derbyshire

Re: Setting up PANOS!

Postby flaxcottage » Thu Apr 20, 2017 8:02 am

hoglet wrote:The one on MDFS actually doesn't have directories at all (i.e. everything is is $.)
http://mdfs.net/Mirror/Image/Acorn/PanO ... OS14-2.zip

See this thread:
viewtopic.php?p=132415#p132415

Dave


... then I am going geriatric! :lol: :? I could have sworn that the download I checked last night had capital letters directories.

Anyway PANOS is now working on a dedicated CF card, thanks, and Pascal is installed. I shall read the documentation and start programming. :)
- John

Currently running Level 4 Econet with BBC B, BBC B+ 128K, Master 128K, 4Mb A3000, 4Mb A3020, 4Mb A4000, 4Mb A5000 dual FDD; UK101; HP41CX setup; Psion 3a, 3mx and 5mx; Z88; TI-58c, TI-59 and printer

User avatar
jgharston
Posts: 2597
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 11:22 am
Location: Whitby/Sheffield

Re: Setting up PANOS!

Postby jgharston » Thu Apr 20, 2017 12:28 pm

Odd. When I get a chance I'll rebuild the PanOS archives on madfs,net

Code: Select all

$ bbcbasic
PDP11 BBC BASIC IV Version 0.25
(C) Copyright J.G.Harston 1989,2005-2015
>_


Return to “software: other”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest