how to get rom in beebem ?

want to talk about MESS/model b/beebem/b-em/electrem/elkulator? do it here!
duikkie
Posts: 2655
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 3:28 pm

how to get rom in beebem ?

Postby duikkie » Thu Feb 23, 2017 10:45 am

how do i get a rom from drive 0 in bank 4,5 or 7 ??

or how to change basic2 from bank 15 to lower
make then bank 15 a ram

and then load the rom in rambank 15 ?

User avatar
jgharston
Posts: 2658
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 11:22 am
Location: Whitby/Sheffield

Re: how to get rom in beebem ?

Postby jgharston » Thu Feb 23, 2017 12:23 pm

duikkie wrote:how do i get a rom from drive 0 in bank 4,5 or 7 ??

*SRLOAD filename 8000 4 (or 5, 6, 7)

duikkie wrote:or how to change basic2 from bank 15 to lower
make then bank 15 a ram

Hardware -> Edit ROM configuration -> select a bank -> Select ROM -> select appropriate BASIC.rom file
select bank 15 -> Empty -> RAM
OK

duikkie wrote:and then load the rom in rambank 15 ?

Hardware -> Edit ROM configuration -> select a bank 15 -> Select ROM -> select the file you want

Code: Select all

$ bbcbasic
PDP11 BBC BASIC IV Version 0.25
(C) Copyright J.G.Harston 1989,2005-2015
>_

duikkie
Posts: 2655
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 3:28 pm

Re: how to get rom in beebem ?

Postby duikkie » Thu Feb 23, 2017 2:01 pm

not good no *srload ??? which rom ?
Attachments
DSCF4897.JPG

cmjones01
Posts: 124
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2013 2:12 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland and Cambridge, UK

Re: how to get rom in beebem ?

Postby cmjones01 » Thu Feb 23, 2017 4:33 pm

The standard model B doesn't come with an SRLOAD command, or indeed any other sideways RAM utilities. Traditionally they'd be supplied in a ROM or on disc. However, you can get an SRLOAD command by using one of the 'upgraded' hardware configurations in Beebem. The 'BBC Model B + Integra-B' and 'BBC B Plus' both have the SRLOAD, SRSAVE and so on built in.

Chris

User avatar
flaxcottage
Posts: 2735
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:46 pm
Location: Derbyshire

Re: how to get rom in beebem ?

Postby flaxcottage » Thu Feb 23, 2017 4:38 pm

You have BeebEm configured as a basic BBC model B so *SRLOAD will not work.

To set BeebEm up how you want;

Load the Roms.cfg file from the BeebEm folder into a text editor. It will look similar to this;

BBC\OS12.ROM
BBC\BASIC2.ROM
BBC\DNFS.ROM
ROMS\LOGO-1.ROM
ROMS\ADT2.ROM
ROMS\EXMON2.ROM
EMPTY
EMPTY
EMPTY
RAM
RAM
RAM
RAM
EMPTY
EMPTY
EMPTY
EMPTY


Change the last EMPTY to be RAM
Put the ROM image (R.ROM) into the BeebEm ROMS folder then edit slot 4,5 or 7 to read ROMS\R.ROM

Save Roms.cfg and overwrite the existing one and restart BeebEm

To load a ROM image, eg LOGO into ROM slot 15 on the BBC micro from disc in BeebEm simply *LOAD LOGO 8000 and press Ctrl-Break

Good luck.
- John

Currently running Level 4 Econet with BBC B, BBC B+ 128K, Master 128K, 4Mb A3000, 4Mb A3020, 4Mb A4000, 4Mb A5000 dual FDD; UK101; HP41CX setup; Psion 3a, 3mx and 5mx; Z88; TI-58c, TI-59 and printer

User avatar
jgharston
Posts: 2658
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 11:22 am
Location: Whitby/Sheffield

Re: how to get rom in beebem ?

Postby jgharston » Thu Feb 23, 2017 5:56 pm

duikkie wrote:not good no *srload ??? which rom ?

*SRLOAD is not a prebuilt ROM-based command before the Master*. ROM Utilities here: http://mdfs.net/Mirror/Image/JGH/

*and even on the Master with MOS 3.2x SRAM Utils shares ROM space with DFS, so if you unplug DFS you lose SRAM Utils as well.

Code: Select all

$ bbcbasic
PDP11 BBC BASIC IV Version 0.25
(C) Copyright J.G.Harston 1989,2005-2015
>_

duikkie
Posts: 2655
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 3:28 pm

Re: how to get rom in beebem ?

Postby duikkie » Thu Feb 23, 2017 6:11 pm

maybe easy for people here who use beebem , but the r.rom is on disc it is a header of a rom *info r.om 5a60 5f00 5a60 5a60

so it is not a rom. bin yet

the only thing is i want it in a empty ram bank !

so which rom do i need to put in the list to upload it in swr beebem ?

where is *srload which rom ????

on a real beeb with swr it is easy

*load r.rom 8000 ( sometimes ?&fe62=15:?&fe60=15)

User avatar
flaxcottage
Posts: 2735
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:46 pm
Location: Derbyshire

Re: how to get rom in beebem ?

Postby flaxcottage » Thu Feb 23, 2017 10:35 pm

duikkie wrote:
on a real beeb with swr it is easy

*load r.rom 8000 ( sometimes ?&fe62=15:?&fe60=15)


Set up the last ROM slot in Roms.cfg to be RAM (see above). Save Roms.cfg then start BeebEm Load your disk image with R.ROM on it and then

*LOAD R.ROM 8000
Ctrl-Break

Your ROM is loaded. It works in BeebEm too - I have just done it. :D
- John

Currently running Level 4 Econet with BBC B, BBC B+ 128K, Master 128K, 4Mb A3000, 4Mb A3020, 4Mb A4000, 4Mb A5000 dual FDD; UK101; HP41CX setup; Psion 3a, 3mx and 5mx; Z88; TI-58c, TI-59 and printer

User avatar
jgharston
Posts: 2658
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 11:22 am
Location: Whitby/Sheffield

Re: how to get rom in beebem ?

Postby jgharston » Thu Feb 23, 2017 10:54 pm

duikkie wrote:maybe easy for people here who use beebem , but the r.rom is on disc it is a header of a rom *info r.om 5a60 5f00 5a60 5a60
so it is not a rom. bin yet
the only thing is i want it in a empty ram bank !

Whatever you would do with a real Beeb by taking off the lid or turning it upside-down, with BeebEm you do by using the Hardware menu. Everything that you would do with a real Beeb by taking the lid off and plugging or unplugging things into ROM sockets, with BeebEm you do using the Hardware->Edit ROM configuration menu. It's that simple.

Take a few minutes to explore by looking in every single menu to see what's there. That's the usual way to find your way around a new piece of software, look in every single menu to see what options are available. That's also the usual menu to find something to perform an action you want to do, look in every single menu to see what options are available.

Code: Select all

$ bbcbasic
PDP11 BBC BASIC IV Version 0.25
(C) Copyright J.G.Harston 1989,2005-2015
>_

User avatar
SimonSideburns
Posts: 251
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 8:09 pm
Location: Purbrook, Hampshire
Contact:

Re: how to get rom in beebem ?

Postby SimonSideburns » Thu Feb 23, 2017 11:50 pm

Hi Duikkie

If you want to get the ROM file from a Disc into the ROM configuration, you have a few choices.

Firstly, to get the ROM off a disc onto your PC (I'm assuming Windows), load up the disc and go to the Edit menu and choose "Export files from disc". You can then copy the file from the disc onto your PC. Then, go into the Hardware menu, choose "Edit ROM configuration", select a bank and load the ROM you saved in the last step.

In a standard Model B, there is no command to load into a ROM, but there is a ROM called ADT that does give you the MLOAD command to which you can specify which RAM slot to load into, so if you do the steps above and "install" ADT.rom, you can then use:

*MLOAD yourrom 8000 4

To load your ROM into bank 4.

I hope this helps.

If you do not have ADT, here it is.
Attachments
ADT.zip
(12.31 KiB) Downloaded 21 times
I'm writing a game where you can change your character from a Wizard to a monkey to a cat.

Well, Imogen that!

duikkie
Posts: 2655
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 3:28 pm

Re: how to get rom in beebem ?

Postby duikkie » Thu Feb 23, 2017 11:54 pm

it is not working , by last you mean first (0) is first not last

look at pictures of beebem :(

on real beeb not that much trouble as with beebem :( the rom works there

flaxcottage wrote:
duikkie wrote:
on a real beeb with swr it is easy

*load r.rom 8000 ( sometimes ?&fe62=15:?&fe60=15)


Set up the last ROM slot in Roms.cfg to be RAM (see above). Save Roms.cfg then start BeebEm Load your disk image with R.ROM on it and then

*LOAD R.ROM 8000
Ctrl-Break

Your ROM is loaded. It works in BeebEm too - I have just done it. :D
Attachments
DSCF4901.JPG
DSCF4900.JPG

duikkie
Posts: 2655
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 3:28 pm

Re: how to get rom in beebem ?

Postby duikkie » Fri Feb 24, 2017 12:05 am

oke that works allmost like real beeb

only not in window if break pressed

SimonSideburns wrote:Hi Duikkie

If you want to get the ROM file from a Disc into the ROM configuration, you have a few choices.

Firstly, to get the ROM off a disc onto your PC (I'm assuming Windows), load up the disc and go to the Edit menu and choose "Export files from disc". You can then copy the file from the disc onto your PC. Then, go into the Hardware menu, choose "Edit ROM configuration", select a bank and load the ROM you saved in the last step.

In a standard Model B, there is no command to load into a ROM, but there is a ROM called ADT that does give you the MLOAD command to which you can specify which RAM slot to load into, so if you do the steps above and "install" ADT.rom, you can then use:

*MLOAD yourrom 8000 4

To load your ROM into bank 4.

I hope this helps.

If you do not have ADT, here it is.
Attachments
DSCF4903.JPG
DSCF4902.JPG

User avatar
simonm
Posts: 164
Joined: Mon May 09, 2016 2:40 pm
Contact:

Re: how to get rom in beebem ?

Postby simonm » Fri Mar 31, 2017 10:52 pm

Thread resurrection!
Is it just me or is *SRLOAD extraordinarily slow?
I just tried loading a 16Kb file to SWR slot 4 using SRLOAD on a BBC Master 128 MOS 3.20 (B-Em), it took 10.59 seconds
Then just a standard *LOAD FILE 8000 took 1.99 seconds.
Same SRLOAD on MOS 3.50 took 2.37 seconds.

Is this due to the DFS/SRAM UTILS co-existing in the same ROM space as jgharston mentioned above?

User avatar
sweh
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 12:05 pm
Location: New York, New York
Contact:

Re: how to get rom in beebem ?

Postby sweh » Fri Mar 31, 2017 11:56 pm

If I remember correctly, *SRLOAD reads the file byte by byte and writes each byte into SWRAM. It does this to avoid corrupting main memory. There's an optional Q flag ("Q" for "Quick") that basically *LOADs the file into main memory, then moves it into SWRAM. This will, of course, corrupt any program you have.
Rgds
Stephen

User avatar
simonm
Posts: 164
Joined: Mon May 09, 2016 2:40 pm
Contact:

Re: how to get rom in beebem ?

Postby simonm » Sat Apr 01, 2017 12:51 am

That would explain it! I wrote my own version of SRLOAD anyway, using disk sector reads and 256 byte page copies to the target SWR. MUCH faster! :)


Return to “emulators”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest