modes and plot codes

Discuss all aspects of programming here. From 8-bit through to modern architectures.
User avatar
richmond62
Posts: 169
Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2017 3:15 pm

modes and plot codes

Postby richmond62 » Sun May 14, 2017 7:34 am

I am trying to plot a simple SINE curve in BBC BASIC (no, I'm not so moronic
that I cannot work out the code for that), and do NOT want the end result to
look like the blips on a Geiger counter, but a solid line.

I have been wading (knee deep) through the MODEs and
the endless PLOT display codes with no result.

This, for instance, yielding nothing but a moving dot:

55 MODE 4
60 PLOT 69,CA,SA


I would be most grateful for some advice.

dp11
Posts: 671
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 8:47 pm

Re: modes and plot codes

Postby dp11 » Sun May 14, 2017 7:50 am

Post your full code please.

I suspect your mode 4 command should be once at the top of your code and not in the loop.

User avatar
richmond62
Posts: 169
Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2017 3:15 pm

Re: modes and plot codes

Postby richmond62 » Sun May 14, 2017 8:51 am

Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 11.50.40 am.png

User avatar
jgharston
Posts: 2658
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 11:22 am
Location: Whitby/Sheffield

Re: modes and plot codes

Postby jgharston » Sun May 14, 2017 9:04 am

richmond62 wrote:Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 11.50.40 am.png

Yes, that's gonig to clear the screen every time you go around the loop.
PLOT action codes

Code: Select all

$ bbcbasic
PDP11 BBC BASIC IV Version 0.25
(C) Copyright J.G.Harston 1989,2005-2015
>_

User avatar
flaxcottage
Posts: 2733
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:46 pm
Location: Derbyshire

Re: modes and plot codes

Postby flaxcottage » Sun May 14, 2017 9:06 am

Yep, make line 10 MODE4 and delete line 60.

This will produce a curve using dots.

To get a curve using very short straight lines use the following code;

cosine.jpg


Changing the value in V will alter the amplitude.
- John

Currently running Level 4 Econet with BBC B, BBC B+ 128K, Master 128K, 4Mb A3000, 4Mb A3020, 4Mb A4000, 4Mb A5000 dual FDD; UK101; HP41CX setup; Psion 3a, 3mx and 5mx; Z88; TI-58c, TI-59 and printer

User avatar
richmond62
Posts: 169
Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2017 3:15 pm

Re: modes and plot codes

Postby richmond62 » Sun May 14, 2017 9:12 am

Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 12.11.22 pm.png

Thank you very much for your help.

I switched SA and CA round as the thing looked bl**dy silly the other way :wink:
Last edited by richmond62 on Sun May 14, 2017 9:14 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
danielj
Posts: 5131
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Manchester

Re: modes and plot codes

Postby danielj » Sun May 14, 2017 9:13 am

You can also ditch the CLS and CLG and the LET keyword if you like :) it'll still work fine.

d.

User avatar
richmond62
Posts: 169
Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2017 3:15 pm

Re: modes and plot codes

Postby richmond62 » Sun May 14, 2017 9:17 am

I'll ditch the LET on my BBC Master, but I'm not entirely sure if ALL BBC BASIC allows one to drop the LET statement,
and Richard Bannister's HORIZON does NOT emulate a Compact.

I learnt BASIC 4 initially (Hollerith cards in the post to Imperial College), and then something called DBAS 9
on a Research Machine; hence the slightly backward-looking LET statements.

The CLS and the CLG are neither here nor there, just something ingrained from the murky past (1976).

User avatar
danielj
Posts: 5131
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Manchester

Re: modes and plot codes

Postby danielj » Sun May 14, 2017 9:32 am

Even v1 doesn't require LET :)

d.

User avatar
richmond62
Posts: 169
Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2017 3:15 pm

Re: modes and plot codes

Postby richmond62 » Sun May 14, 2017 9:40 am

So why did "Bonehead" Barker, our Maths teacher and the man who turned me onto computer programming, make a BIG thing about LET statements?

User avatar
danielj
Posts: 5131
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Manchester

Re: modes and plot codes

Postby danielj » Sun May 14, 2017 9:54 am

Probably because he didn't know what he was on about :D

d.

User avatar
jgharston
Posts: 2658
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 11:22 am
Location: Whitby/Sheffield

Re: modes and plot codes

Postby jgharston » Sun May 14, 2017 10:14 am

richmond62 wrote:I'll ditch the LET on my BBC Master, but I'm not entirely sure if ALL BBC BASIC allows one to drop the LET statement

ALL BBC BASICs omit LET, it's in the specification.

Code: Select all

$ bbcbasic
PDP11 BBC BASIC IV Version 0.25
(C) Copyright J.G.Harston 1989,2005-2015
>_

User avatar
richmond62
Posts: 169
Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2017 3:15 pm

Re: modes and plot codes

Postby richmond62 » Sun May 14, 2017 10:37 am

Probably because he didn't know what he was on about

Or, maybe because he was NOT teaching us BBC BASIC :)
380z_computer.jpg
(25.06 KiB) Not downloaded yet


This is a bit creepy: http://teachersinstitute.yale.edu/curri ... .09.x.html

User avatar
BeebMaster
Posts: 2433
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 4:59 pm
Location: Lost in the BeebVault!
Contact:

Re: modes and plot codes

Postby BeebMaster » Sun May 14, 2017 7:52 pm

Also in BBC BASIC in a FOR...NEXT loop you can omit the variable in the NEXT statement (unless you have nested loops and need to distinguish between two or more) - so you can change line 80 to just "NEXT".
Image


Return to “programming”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest