Disc Image Manager

discuss pc<>acorn file transfer issues and the use of other utils
User avatar
geraldholdsworth
Posts: 1053
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Inverness, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Disc Image Manager

Post by geraldholdsworth »

rmbrowngr wrote:
Mon Nov 29, 2021 2:02 pm
You get question marks instead of directories.
I'll get that fixed over the next couple of days.

EDIT: I managed to get it sorted in a short space of time, so I've uploaded version 1.38.3.
User avatar
rmbrowngr
Posts: 532
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2018 12:46 pm
Location: Dionysos, Greece
Contact:

Re: Disc Image Manager

Post by rmbrowngr »

Another possible issue, but I think this is a problem of the disk image. The "Welcome" directory appears to be broken, "help" directory appears to be empty, and I checked also with ADFS Explorer, which crashes with it.
Electron_Welcome_Disc.zip
(85.19 KiB) Downloaded 8 times
Update: The issue was that the image has the wrong extension, it should be adl and not adf.
Richard B
Acorn Electrons issue 4 and 6, MRB, Plus 1 x2, Plus 3, AP6 x2, AP5, Pegasus 400, BeebSCSI, Gotek, Raspberry Pi Co-processor, GoSDC MBE.
BBC B+ 64K (128K upgraded) with Duel OS, Raspberry Pi Co-processor and Gotek.
User avatar
geraldholdsworth
Posts: 1053
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Inverness, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Disc Image Manager

Post by geraldholdsworth »

This is an ADFS M image, at 320KB. It appears to be interleaved, in 4K blocks, which it shouldn't be as it is only single sided. I'll investigate and see if I can get DIM to read it.

I tried it in BeebEm and that also fails to read it properly (interestingly, BeebEm reports both Help and Welcome as broken, while DIM only reports Welcome as broken).

EDIT: Although 320K discs on the Plus 3 were 80T single sided, this image could be a 40T double sided disc, hence why it is interleaved...but wouldn't work on the original Plus 3.
User avatar
geraldholdsworth
Posts: 1053
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Inverness, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Disc Image Manager

Post by geraldholdsworth »

I've found a workaround, and put version 1.38.4 onto GitHub (this won't be in the releases section, btw).

What I've done is to extend the interleaving checks to beyond ADFS 'L' and AFS images to all ADFS images. You'll need to go into the options page and change it away from Automatic to force it to use interleave (but remember to change it back otherwise other images won't open).

What I'll now need to do is to extend the 'Change Interleave' tool for all ADFS - this still only works with ADFS 'L' and AFS images.
User avatar
geraldholdsworth
Posts: 1053
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Inverness, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Disc Image Manager

Post by geraldholdsworth »

I've enabled the "Change Interleave" method for any ADFS image, where the interleave method is forced. This will be on the next version - if you need it now, I can build and upload it. For now I've converted the above image to sequential, which works in BeebEm.
Attachments
HA-WELC.adf.zip
(82.71 KiB) Downloaded 10 times
User avatar
rmbrowngr
Posts: 532
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2018 12:46 pm
Location: Dionysos, Greece
Contact:

Re: Disc Image Manager

Post by rmbrowngr »

geraldholdsworth wrote:
Mon Jan 03, 2022 3:04 pm
I've enabled the "Change Interleave" method for any ADFS image, where the interleave method is forced. This will be on the next version - if you need it now, I can build and upload it. For now I've converted the above image to sequential, which works in BeebEm.
Next release will be fine.

Thanks. :D
Richard B
Acorn Electrons issue 4 and 6, MRB, Plus 1 x2, Plus 3, AP6 x2, AP5, Pegasus 400, BeebSCSI, Gotek, Raspberry Pi Co-processor, GoSDC MBE.
BBC B+ 64K (128K upgraded) with Duel OS, Raspberry Pi Co-processor and Gotek.
User avatar
KenLowe
Posts: 2349
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 5:35 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Disc Image Manager

Post by KenLowe »

Hi Gerald,

I wonder if you might be able to help me with a couple of issues I've got trying to use the command line options with your Disc Image Manager. I've posted details of what I'm trying to do here. I suspect I'm doing something fundamentally silly!

Thanks
User avatar
geraldholdsworth
Posts: 1053
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Inverness, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Disc Image Manager

Post by geraldholdsworth »

Hiya,

I'll reply to this over on the other thread, keep it all together, but as this was posted mid-way through the other thread, I'm suspecting you may have solved the issue?

Cheers,

Gerald.
User avatar
KenLowe
Posts: 2349
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 5:35 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Disc Image Manager

Post by KenLowe »

geraldholdsworth wrote:
Sun Jan 16, 2022 12:52 pm
Hiya,

I'll reply to this over on the other thread, keep it all together, but as this was posted mid-way through the other thread, I'm suspecting you may have solved the issue?

Cheers,

Gerald.
Yes, I think it probably has been addressed, but I've not had a chance to test yet. Although I'm still not sure what the Access Violation error is about when I try to create a new ADFS HDD image using the GUI?

Thanks!
User avatar
geraldholdsworth
Posts: 1053
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Inverness, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Disc Image Manager

Post by geraldholdsworth »

KenLowe wrote:
Sun Jan 16, 2022 12:57 pm
Yes, I think it probably has been addressed, but I've not had a chance to test yet. Although I'm still not sure what the Access Violation error is about when I try to create a new ADFS HDD image using the GUI?
Interesting...I'll look into this.
User avatar
geraldholdsworth
Posts: 1053
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Inverness, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Disc Image Manager

Post by geraldholdsworth »

KenLowe wrote:
Sun Jan 16, 2022 12:57 pm
Access Violation error is about when I try to create a new ADFS HDD image using the GUI?
I can't replicate this, neither in the GUI or command line.

What options are you using when you create an image?
User avatar
KenLowe
Posts: 2349
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 5:35 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Disc Image Manager

Post by KenLowe »

geraldholdsworth wrote:
Sun Jan 16, 2022 7:07 pm
KenLowe wrote:
Sun Jan 16, 2022 12:57 pm
Access Violation error is about when I try to create a new ADFS HDD image using the GUI?
I can't replicate this, neither in the GUI or command line.

What options are you using when you create an image?
I'm running this on a Win10 x64 machine. I've copied the executable into a subfolder of the desktop, and I'm running it from there. I'm just using the defaults for a ADFS HDD:
Selected Options
Selected Options
If I press 'Create', I then get this:
Access Violation
Access Violation
User avatar
jms2
Posts: 3188
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 6:38 am
Location: Derby, UK
Contact:

Re: Disc Image Manager

Post by jms2 »

I'm running the latest version on Windows 11, and I also get the same error - but this is when trying to open an existing .MMB file.

It's the first time I have tried Disc Image manager on this OS, but it used to work OK for me in the past. I blame Microsoft!
User avatar
geraldholdsworth
Posts: 1053
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Inverness, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Disc Image Manager

Post by geraldholdsworth »

I can't replicate that Access Violation error in my Windows 10 installation. I don't have Windows 11 to try it out on, unfortunately.

There is also another Windows-related bug that I've been told about - when creating an AFS0 image, the image size text doesn't get updated as the slider moves, as well as the Level 2/Level 3 options sometimes disappear. This I can replicate on my Windows 10 install. AFS0 images don't get created correctly either - this is not a Windows only error.

On the plus side, the latest version of Lazarus compiler has been released - so I'm starting to upgrade my various installs. This may fix some issues (it didn't fix the non-updating image size). This latest version will also cross-compile, on macOS, for the Apple M1 processor - so macOS will have three versions: 32 bit, 64 bit and ARM. As I don't have a new Mac, I'll need to rely on you good people to let me know if it works or not.

Watch this space...
User avatar
0xC0DE
Posts: 1126
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2019 7:52 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Disc Image Manager

Post by 0xC0DE »

I seem to have discovered a minor bug: DIM adds an extra byte to a UEF, causing problems reading such a UEF back.
Tested on DIM 1.38 and 1.38.4. I use DIM mainly from the command line (Win 10, 64bit).
The last UEF tape chunk is of type &110 (high tone) and has 1 byte too many (always &00?).
I checked and older versions of DIM don't seem to have this problem. (not sure how far back in version history though)
0xC0DE
"I program my home computer / Beam myself into the future"
:arrow: Follow me on Twitter
:arrow: Visit my YouTube channel featuring my games and demos for Acorn Electron and BBC Micro
User avatar
geraldholdsworth
Posts: 1053
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Inverness, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Disc Image Manager

Post by geraldholdsworth »

The last change to the UEF code was 1.29, and 1.25 before that...neither were bug fixes.

I'll have a look later on tonight.
Post Reply

Return to “software & utilities for the pc, mac or unix”